27
Apr
10

Meet June

June loves Bill; most times, he’s all she can bear to talk about. And when I say love, I mean the carve your initials into an old oak tree kind of love – innocent, blind and maybe a little bit delusional at times.

When I first met June, she had a thick knit cap pulled low over her eyes, wisps of blond hair poking out from underneath. Rather than walk confidently, she shuffled – eyes downcast and mouth twisted in confusion. In the weeks that followed, I observed her spending much of her time sitting on the curb next to the shelter, her short legs jutted out in front of her. Sometimes, she would get up and wander aimlessly, as if she was searching for Bill, her rescuer that never seemed to come.

“He’s coming for me. Really,” said June, looking directly into my eyes. “He moved back in with his mom to take care of her, and now he’s getting a place ready for me there. He promised.”

But so many earthly promises fall short. Week after week, June paces along the marred concrete, the thick cap pulled low over her eyes. It’s been almost a year since I first met her, and Bill hasn’t come for her. Still, she watches and she waits expectantly.

There is one house, though, that has more than enough room. Room for June and each one of us. In John 14:2-4, Jesus says to his disciples, “There is more than enough room in my Father’s home. If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you? When everything is ready, I will come and get you, so that you will always be with me where I am. And you know the way I am going.”

Please join me in praying for June this week.
1. Pray that June knows there is one Home that will always have room for her, that Jesus is always welcoming her into his arms. Pray that she understands the Gospel and accepts it, even if she’s heard it many times before.
2. Pray that she’s kept safe and away from abuse that she may have experienced in the past
3. I get the sense that she really needs a care-taker. Pray that God provides this for her, whether it’s in the form of a group home or any other way that he sees fit.

0 Responses to “Meet June”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

